Post-independence Constitution

Government S.S.S 2 Third Term


Post-independence Constitution 2

Performance Objectives

Student should be able to:

1. Mention 1979 Constitution

2. Outline the main features of the 1979 constitution

3. Identify the common features of the 1979 constitution

The Historical Background Second Republic Constitution of 1979

The military government of Lieutenant General Olusegun Obasanjo established a constitution drafting committee in September, 1975. The committee began work in October of the same year. The committee consisted of 49 members with Chief Rotimi Williams as chairman. In September 1976, the Constitution Drafting Committee (CDC) published a two-volume report on the new constitution. Later in 1976, the constituent assembly was established with 190 members indirectly elected by local government units (forming the electoral college) while 40 members were appointed by the federal military government. The constituent assembly began its work on the report submitted by the CDC in December, 1976 under the chairmanship of Sir Justice Udo Udoma. The work was completed.... View More

Subscribe now to gain full access to this lesson note

Take Me There

Click here to gain access to the full notes.